RHONDDA CYNON TAF COUNTY BOROUGH COUNCIL

LOCAL EDUCATION AUTHORITY GOVERNORS (APPOINTMENTS) COMMITTEE

Minutes of the meeting held at the County Borough Council Offices, The Pavilions, Clydach Vale on Thursday 8th June, 2018 at 10:00am

PRESENT

County Borough Councillors:

J. Rosser
S. Rees- Owen
M. Powell
S. Bradwick (Substitute)
G. Hughes (Substitute)

Officer in Attendance

Mrs.J.Hadley – Schools Organisation Manger Ms C. Hendy – Democratic Services Officer

1 APOLOGY FOR ABSENCE

An apology for absence was received from County Borough Councillor J. Brencher and M. Forey.

2 DECLARATION OF INTEREST

- County Borough Councillor S. Bradwick declared a personal and prejudicial interest in agenda item no.6 – Applications for the appointment of Local Education Authority Governors – "I am applying to be a Governor at Aberdare Community School and I also know another Applicant and I left the meeting when the item was discussed".
- County Borough Councillor G. Hughes declared a personal and prejudicial interest in agenda item no.6 – Applications for the appointment of Local Education Authority Governors – "I am applying to be a Governor at Ysgol Nant Gwyn and I also know another Applicant and I left the meeting when the Item was discussed".

3 MINUTES

RESOLVED to approve as an accurate record, the minutes of the meeting of the L.E.A. Governors (Appointments) Committee held on 2nd March 2017.

3 <u>ELECTION OF CHAIR OF THE LOCAL EDUCATION AUTHORITY</u> <u>GOVERNORS (APPOINTMENTS) COMMITTEE FOR THE 2018/19</u> <u>MUNICIPAL YEAR</u>

RESOLVED to elect County Borough Councillor J. Rosser as Chair of the Local Education Authority Governors (Appointments) Committee for the 2018 -19 municipal year.

4 APPOINTMENT OF VICE-CHAIR OF THE LOCAL EDUCATION AUTHORITY GOVERNORS (APPOINTMENTS) COMMITTEE FOR THE 2017-18 MUNICIPAL YEAR

RESOLVED to appoint County Borough Councillor M. Forey as Vice-Chair of the Local Education Authority Governors (Appointments) Committee for the 2018 -19 municipal year.

5 MINUTES

RESOLVED to approve as an accurate record, the minutes of the meeting of the L.E.A. Governors (Appointments) Committee held on 4th October 2017.

6 EXCLUSION OF THE PRESS AND PUBLIC

RESOLVED that the press and public be excluded from the meeting under Section 100A (4) of the Local Government Act 1972 for the following item of business on the grounds that it involves the likely disclosure of exempt information as defined in paragraph 13 of Schedule 12A of the Local Government Act (as amended), namely, information relating to a particular individual. Transparency in the conduct of Local Authority business is desirable, however, personal data relating to the conduct and capabilities of individuals will be discussed and considered. Consequently, it is considered the public interest in maintaining the exemption outweighs and the public interest in disclosing information.

REPORT OF THE DIRECTOR, EDUCATION & LIFELONG LEARNING CONTAINING EXEMPT INFORMATION

7 APPOINTMENT OF LOCAL EDUCATION AUTHORITY GOVERNORS

In his report, the Director of Education & Lifelong Learning advised the Committee of applications received for Local Education Authority governorships.

In addition to the applications listed in the report, one late application for governorships were circulated for consideration.

Following consideration of the applications before them, Members **RESOLVED** that the following persons be appointed as Local Education Authority Governors, as set out below:

SCHOOL	GOVERNOR	EFFECTIVE DATE
Aborovnon Community Primary	Mr. A. Coffony	17 th October 2018
Abercynon Community Primary Abernant Primary	Mr A Caffery Mr John Davies	8 th June 2018
Blaengwawr Primary	Cllr S. Evans	18 th July 2018
Cilfynydd Primary	Mr A Caffery	8 th June 2018
Cwmaman Primary	Mr N. Thorne	1 st September 2018
Cwinaman Filmary	Mr A Hoare	1 September 2010
Dolau Primary	Mrs B Stephens	8 th June 2018
Glenboi Primary	Mrs B Jones	18 th July 2018
,	Mr A Lindley	8 th June 2018
Gwaunmeisgyn Primary	Mrs C Jones	8 th June 2018
Maesycoed Primary	Cllr J Brencher	8 th June 2018
Parc Lewis Primary	Mr G Jones	18 th July 2018
Pengeulan Primary	Mr A Meikle	8 th June 2018
Penpych Primary	Mrs I Pearce	8 th June 2018
Pontyclun Primary	Rev. S. Rees	18 th July 2018
Tonysguboriau Primary	Mr R. Troote	18 th July 2018
YGG Bronllwyn	Cllr J. Cullwick	8 th June 2018
YGG Garth Olwg	Ms L Edwards	8 th June 2018
Maesgwyn Special School	Cllr C Parker	8 th June 2018
Park Lane Special School	Mr C Evans	8 th June 2018
Aberdare Community School	Mr S. Whippey	1 st September 2018
7	Mr J. Evans	1 st September 2018
	Mr A. Maddox	1 st September 2018
	Cllr S. Bradwick	1 st September 2018
	Cllr L. De Vet	1 st September 2018
Bryn Celynnog Comprehensive	Mr H. Jones	19 th September 2018
Cardinal Newman RC	Mr M. Jones	8 th June 2018
Hawthorn High School	Mr G Jones	18 th July 2018
Pontypridd High School	Mr C. Evans	8 th June 2018
St John Baptist Church in Wales	Mr M. Richards	20 th October 2018
Y Pant Comprehensive School	Cllr S. Powell	20 th October 2018
Ysgol Gyfun Garth Olwg	Mrs A Hague	8 th June 2018
Porth Community School	Cllr G. Caple	1 st September 2018
	Mr D Brookes	1 st September 2018
	Cllr J. Williams	1 st September 2018
	Mr P Rees	1 st September 2018
	Mrs C. Edwards	1 st September 2018
Tonyrefail Community School	Mrs E. Hanagan	1 st September 2018
,	Mr C. Lewis	1 st September 2018
	Mrs C. Rees	1 st September 2018
	Cllr A. Davies- Jones	1 st September 2018
	Cllr D. Owen – Jones	1 st September 2018
Ysgol Nant Gwyn	Mr E. Griffiths	1 st September 2018
	Cllr G. Hughes	1 st September 2018

Cllr J. Davies	1 st September 2018
Mrs S. Jones	1 st September 2018
Cllr J. Cullwick	1 st September 2018

APPOINTMENT OF TEMPORARY GOVERNORS TO THE TEMPORARY GOVERNING BODY OF YSGOL GARTH OLWG

LEA Governor	Cllr G. Stacey Dr J. Pugh Mrs S. Thomas Mrs C. Crockett Mr R. Butler	1 st September 2018 1 st September 2018 1 st September 2018 1 st September 2018 1 st September 2018
Parent Governor	Mrs A. Spicer Mrs R. Richards Mrs A. Harden Mrs J. Barton Mrs R. Villis Mr M. Roberts	1 st September 2018 1 st September 2018
Teacher	Mr G. Jones Mrs H. Bode	1 st September 2018 1 st September 2018
Staff	Mrs P. Price	1 st September 2018

(**Note:** Having earlier declared a personal and prejudicial interest in the matter, County Borough Councillor S. Bradwick left the meeting at the point of the appointment of L.E.A Governor for Aberdare Community School)

(**Note:** Having earlier declared a personal and prejudicial interest in the matter, County Borough Councillor G. Hughes left the meeting at the point of the appointment of L.E.A Governor for Ysgol Nant Gwyn)

(Mrs) J. Rosser CHAIRMAN

The meeting terminated at 10:45am